The Latest 25 Worldwide Meteors Dynamic Map™ ©2009-2016

09 June 2013

The Latest Worldwide Meteor/Meteorite News 08JUN2013 * Asteroid Passing Earth

0.29 LD New Potentially Hazardous Asteroid 2013 LR6 passing Earth ...‎
17 hours ago - 31 posts - 7 authors They found her yesterday, she will 'pass' us tomorrow. Cheers, T.

Small Asteroid Between Earth and Moon Tonight
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
June 07, 2013
Small asteroid 2013 LR6 will safely fly past this evening at 9:42 p.m.
PDT (which is June 8 at 12:42 a.m. EDT/June 8 at 04:42 UTC) at a
distance of about 65,000 miles (105,000 kilometers) above Earth's
surface. The space rock, which is about 30 feet (10 meters) in diameter,
will be above the Southern Ocean, south of Tasmania, at the time of
closest approach. Asteroid 2013 LR6 was discovered by the NASA-sponsored
Catalina Sky Survey on June 6. ...

2011 meteor shower left a ton of debris on earth
Times of India
Scientists have found that meteoritic material - debris from these shooting stars, especially during the 2011 Draconid meteor shower deposited a ton of meteoritic material on Earth. With more than 400 meteors per hour, it was one of the most intense ...

Author Alan Whichello looks at impact of meteors in new novel
PR Web (press release)
Nearly 200 years later, in May 2012, another meteor was spotted traveling from northern Scotland to southern England, descending to an altitude of about 80 miles above Birmingham and Oxfordshire, and is believed to have finally gone down in the English ...

Cañon City part of Colorado Springs meteorite exhibit
Fri, 07 Jun, 2013 03:25 AM PDT
Pieces of some rare Cañon City history will be on display during the Pikes Peak Gem and Mineral Show from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Friday through Sunday at the Western Museum of Mining and Industry in Colorado Springs. Continue reading

2013 THE Year of Meteors, Asteroids, Comets, and MORE!!

No comments: